Sylhet survive late Frylinck blitz


Pacer Taskin Ahmed claimed 4-28 after David Warner and Nicholas Pooran struck fifties as Sylhet Sixers edged Chittagong Vikings by five runs to secure their first win in the sixth Bangladesh Premier League in Mirpur on Wednesday.
In a high-scoring thriller at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Sylhet, who won the toss and opted to bat first, recovered from 6-3 in the third over to score 168-5 thanks largely to Warner’s 59 off 47 balls and Pooran’s unbeaten 52 off 32 balls.
Chittagong’s South African all-rounder Robbie Frylinck provided a late onslaught to take them close with an unbeaten 44 off 24 balls, but could not finish the game off as they were restricted to 163-7.
Chittagong needed 24 runs to win in their last over after the regular batsmen failed to cash in on a good start given by Mohammad Ashraful and Cameron Delport, but Frylinck, who earlier claimed 3-26 with the ball, gave them a late hope with his powerful batting.
Frylinck, Chittagong’s man of the match in the opening match, got the strike in the second ball and took 14 runs from pacer Al-Amin Hossain’s next three balls with two massive sixes and a double to bring some excitement in the game.
But Al-Amin kept his composure under pressure to give away only three runs in the last two balls of the over to help his side post a narrow win.
‘We all knew that Frylinck can hit big shots… but when it came to 24 runs, you were asking too much. But as we come to that point at the end it was good fight for our team,’ said Chittagong skipper Mushfiqur Rahim.
Despite losing Ahmed Shahzad for six in the fourth ball of the chase, Chittagong were well on course after Ashraful and Delport made a 57-run stand for the second wicket.
However, both the batsmen were dismissed in successive overs as Delport was run out by Sandeep Lamichhane for 38 off 22 balls while Ashraful became Taskin’s second victim after making 22.
Chittagong soon lost their way after Alok Kapali dismissed Mushfiq for five and Mosaddek Hossain for seven before Sikandar Raza brought the innings back on track with a 28-ball 37-run innings.
Earlier, Sylhet made a brilliant recovery thanks to young Afif Hossain and Warner, who put up a 71-run stand for the fourth wicket stand.
Afif surprisingly took the dominant role in the partnership, hitting five fours and three sixes for his 45 off 28 before losing his wicket to pacer Khaled Ahmed.
‘I tried to play it my way as like I did previously. I chose the balls and tried to pick up runs in good deliveries. When I got bad balls, I tried to hit boundaries,’ Afif told reporters after the match.
Warner played the anchor role in Sylhet innings and hit just two fours and a six before he was dismissed in the 19th over.
He shared 70-run with Pooran, who hit three fours and as many sixes, in their fifth wicket stand to provide Sylhet a competitive total.
Sylhet’s West Indies batsman Pooran was adjudged man-of-the-match.

Sylhet Sixers innings
Liton c Delport b Frylinck0
DA Warner c Mushfiq b Frylinck59
Nasir c Mosaddek Hossain b Nayeem3
Sabbir b Frylinck0
Afif c Shahzad b Khaled45
N Pooran not out52
Kapali not out2
Extras (lb 2, w 5)7
Total (5 wickets, 20 overs)168
Did not bat: Taskin Ahmed, S Lamichhane, Al-Amin, Mohammad Irfan
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Liton), 2-5 (Nasir), 3-6 (Sabbir), 4-77 (Afif), 5-147 (DA Warner)
R Frylinck 4 0 26 3
Nayeem 4 0 20 1
Raza 3 0 28 0
Jayed 3 0 34 0
Khaled 3 0 33 1
Mosaddek 3 0 25 0
Chittagong Vikings innings
Shahzad c Warner b Taskin6
CS Delport run out38
Ashraful c Sabbir b Taskin22
Mushfiq c Afif b Kapali5
S Raza b Taskin37
Mosaddek b Kapali7
R Frylinck not out44
Nayeem c Warner b Taskin0
Sunzamul not out2
Extras (w 2)2
Total (7 wickets, 20 Overs)163
Did not bat: Abu Jayed, Khaled Ahmed
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Shahzad), 2-63 (CS Delport), 3-69 (Ashraful), 4-74 (Mushfiq), 5-94 (Mosaddek), 6-131 (S Raza), 7-131 (Nayeem)
Taskin 4 0 28 4
Irfan 4 0 35 0
Nasir 1 0 10 0
Al-Amin 4 0 57 0
Lamichhane 4 0 21 0
Afif 1 0 6 0
Kapali 2 0 6 2
Result: Sylhet Sixers won by 5 runs
Man of the match: Nicholas Pooran (Sylhet Sixers)
Toss: Sylhet Sixers