IPL 2018: Jason Roy leads Delhi Daredevils to first win this season


Mumbai Indians crashed to their third straight defeat this season as they lost by 7 wickets against Delhi Daredevils at the Wankhede stadium on Saturday.

Jason Roy starred with the bat for the Daredevils as they chased down a mammoth target of 195 to stun MI fans.

Roy remained unbeaten on 91 from just 53 balls with 6 sixes and as many boundaries. He was ably supported by wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant, who made a quickfire 47 off 25 balls with 6 fours and a couple of towering sixes.

The duo shared a crucial 69-run stand for the second wicket before the latter got out.

But Roy carried on attacking the Mumbai bowlers and stitched an unbeaten 60-run partnership with Shreyas Iyer to ensure Delhi’s first win of the season. Iyer remained not out on 27 off 20 balls.

11 runs were needed off the last over which was bowled by Mustafizur Rahman but he was no match for Roy who smashed the runs all by himself.

For Mumbai, Krunal Pandya picked up 2 wickets while Mustafizur Rahman got one.

Earlier, Mumbai had got off to a great start thanks to Suryakumar Yadav’s promotion at the top. Yadav smashed 53 from 32 balls and added 102 runs for the opening wicket along with Evin Lewis, who made 48 off 28 balls.

Ishan Kishan also slammed a quickfire 44 off 23 balls with five sixes and two sixes. The hosts were looking good for a total well over 200 before the Daredevils fought back with Trent Boult, Daniel Christian and Rahul Tewatia picking up two wickets each while Mohammed Shami got one.

Source: India Today