BNP to share six seats with Gono Forum


The main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party has so far agreed to share six of the 300 constituencies with the Gono Forum, its major ally in the Jatiya Oikya Front, in the 11th parliament elections scheduled for December 30.
‘We have discussed with BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and standing committee member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain about seat sharing and they will inform us about it soon,’ a senior Gono Forum leader told New Age on Tuesday.
He said that BNP had so far agreed to share six seats with Gono Forum, but they would be happy if they got 10 more seats in the general election.
The six seats BNP to share with the Gono Forum led by Dr Kamal Hossain are Dhaka 6 for its executive president Subrata Chowdhury, Dhaka 7 for general secretary Mostafa Hossain Montu, Pabna 1 for Abu Sayeed, Habiganj 1 for Reza Kibria, Kurigram 2 for Amsaa Amin and Moulvibazar 2 for former Dhaka University Central Students Union vice-president Sultan Muhammad Mansur, he said.
Former Awami League minister Abu Sayeed, AL leader Amsaa Amin, who contested the 2001 elections from the Awami League and failed, and late AL finance minister ASM Kibria’s son Reza Kibria joined the Gono Forum in November.
Reza Kibria’s nomination paper for Habiganj 1 was cancelled by the returning officer during scrutiny on Sunday. Gono Forum thinks that the nomination would be validated in the appeal.
Subrata Chowdhury and Mostafa Mohsin Montu met Fakhrul at BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia’s Gulshan office on Monday to discuss about seat sharing.
Subrara said that the Gono Forum had no minimum or maximum demand for seats as they wanted that competent and popular candidates would get nominations.
The Jatiya Oikya Front was formed on October 13 with BNP, the Jatiya Oikya Prakriya of Kamal Hossain, the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal faction led by ASM Abdur Rob and the Nagorik Oikya of Mahmudur Rahman Manna. Later in November Krishak Sramik Janata League of Abdul Kader Siddique joined the Front.
Earlier, the front announced that the parties in the alliance would contest the parliamentary elections with BNP’s electoral symbol sheaf of paddy.
As the seat sharing issue was not settled before the submission of nomination papers, the registered parties in the front submitted nomination papers separately.
The lone unregistered party Nagorik Oikya submitted nomination papers for nine candidates, including Mahmudur Rahman Manna, with BNP’s nomination certificates.
The parties in the alliance continued negotiations with BNP on seat sharing, BNP leaders said.
All political parties have to make decision on seat sharing and nominations and convey the decisions to the returning officers before the December 9 deadline for the withdrawal of candidatures.
On November 27, Mirza Fakhrul told journalists that BNP would share maximum 60 of the 300 seats with its allies in the front and the BNP-led alliance